Impact

We’re a Public Benefit Corporation and Social Enterprise.

We support the United Nation’s Global Goals for Sustainable Development.

We measure our impact on these two global goals:

Values

Mission

We create sharing energy communities where people purchase, save, and store energy smartly.

Vision

We envision a future where people will regulate daily energy use via APPs.
We’ll decide our electricity spend by adjusting consumption in real-time.
We’ll reach our budgetary and environmental goals with help from The Internet of Things(IoT).

Team

Donna Sanders

CEO & Founder

MBA ’17

donna@nysocialsolar.com

Mark Nyon

CTO

mark@nysocialsolar.com

Wendy Wang

Data Scientist, Volunteer

MS ’17 QMSS

wendy@nysocialsolar.com

Ola Olakeyede

Engineer, Volunteer

MS ’17 MSE

ola@nysocialsolar.com

Alex Yale

Business DEV, Volunteer

BS ’17 international studies

alex@nysocialsolar.com

Zeyu Ye

Software Engineer

MS ’17 Data Science

zeyu@nysocialsolar.com

Kerry, Sustainability, Volunteer

Karan, Engineer, Volunteer

Mike, Project MGT, Volunteer

Adhar, Finance, Volunteer

Angela, Legal Counsel, Volunteer

Dmitry, BusinessDEV, Volunteer

Asumi, Finance, Volunteer

Awards

History

Social Solar, a social enterprise startup, was founded February 2017 by Columbia University graduate students. June 2017, we began working full-time on our business.

October 2016
Oct 5

Annual Fall Venture Fair

Oct 21-Dec 9

Design Studio Leaders Program

January 2017
Jan 9-13

Lean Launch Pad

Jan 20-April 30

Innovation & Entrepreneurship, IE

February 2017
Feb 1

Spark, a Space for Social Innovators Community Event

Feb 2-3

Columbia University Energy Symposium

Feb 3

Pitch @ Energy Symposium Venture Showcase

April 2017
April 19-23

Columbia Social Entrepreneurship Accelerator

Jan 20-April 28

Innovation & Entrepreneurship, IE

May 2017
May 3

Pitch @ IE

June 2017
June 5

Moved into Columbia Startup Lab

Partners

Upcoming Certifications